E Tu Whānau Rangatahi Film Awards 2016

For our 2016 Rangatahi Film Awards we were thrilled to receive 12 films, of which 9 were screened. Once again, the calibre of filmmaking was impressive and we were delighted to see finished films from some of the schools who participated in Māoriland’s E Tu Whānau Filmmaking Wananga (2015/16).

Our 2016 judges were filmmakers Tammy Davis (Born to Dance) , Mike Jonathan (Ow What! And Will Voight (Three Wise Cousins).

IMG_5536 copy


The E Tu Whanau Rangatahi Filmmaking competition invites rangatahi to submit films of any genre – documentary/ short drama/ animation/music video etc – that are aligned to, or based on, any of the following themes;

  1. Being a Father is Easy, Being a Dad isn’t.
  1. Your Ancestors Sit on you Shoulders to keep your Feet on the Ground.
  1. Leave Big Footsteps for your Children to Follow
  1. The World and all things in it are Treasures. But the most Treasured of all is your Mother.
  1. Kōrero awhi; Your words and deeds for today can make a difference for tomorrow
  1. Aroha; Live life with a generous and humble spirit.

The rangatahi all were clearly inspired and used their  imagination to create a film that was a unique perspective!

IMG_2006 copy
IMG_2007 copy
IMG_2004 copy


He Taonga

Producer/Director Oriwa Hakaraia (12) Te Kura a Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Drama

Winner: Best Actor Te Ahitaiwa Hakaraia Hosking

What’s The Difference?

Producer/Director Maizy Kingsford-Brown  12  Te Kura a Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Innovation


Producer/Director Philly Kingsford-Brown  15  Te Kura a Iwi o Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, Ōtaki

Winner: Best Docuementary

Winner: Best Original Music


Director  Neihana Lowe 15 & Sheldon Rua 16  Rosehill College Auckland

Winner: Best Camera

Winner: Best Original Music


The Healthy Wrap

Manaakitanga studio and Room 7, Avalon Intermediate

Winner: Best Innovation

Winner: Best Original music

Otaki’s Treasure

Director/Producer  Kaea Hakaraia –Hosking 11 Te Korowai Whakamana, Otaki


Director  Pani Rakuraku White  11       Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Ruamata

Winner: Best Camera

Winner: Best Documentary

Maori Spy Movie

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Manawatu


Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Te Rito

Winner: Best Actor Te Akauroa Jacob, 10

IMG_1999 copy
IMG_2009 copy
IMG_5524 copy