E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Challenge

Have you ever wanted to make a film?

What stories do you want to see on the big screen? 

The E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Challenge invites rangatahi Māori aged 12 – 24 to tell your own stories from your perspective as young people in Aotearoa.

A movement for positive change

E Tū Whānau is a movement for positive change developed by Māori for Māori. It’s about taking responsibility and action in your community and supporting whānau to thrive.



Giving with no expectation of return.


It’s about being connected.


Knowing who you are and where you belong.


Building the mana of others, through nurturing, growing and challenging.


Open communication, being supportive.


Doing things the right way, according to our values


People’s Choice Award Winner 2020

In 2019 the E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film workshop tour visited Kaitaia, Hokianga, Tāmaki Makaurau, Kirikiriroa, Rotorua and Ōtaki!

Our 2020 award winners are;

  • Best Documentary; Ngahiwi Pickering for the film Kupe
  • Best Drama; Te Kura Kaupapa Māori O Te Tonga O Hokianga for the film Taku Poi, Taku Taiaha
  • Best Actor; Parekawa Finlay for the film, Kōtiro
  • Best Editor; Joke Book
  • Best Use of Theme; Mina Wi for the film, Don’t Bully
  • Filmmaker of the Year; Tuuterangi Vaka for the film, Wiremu.


Best documentary – Pakipūmeka Mātua

Wāhine Toa – Qianna Titore 

Best Drama – Te Tino Whakaataata

Bubs – Arita Campbell and Te Waiarangi 

Best Edit – Pepa “kotikoti”, kōhatū 

Home – Joshua Robinson

Best use of Theme – Wai Ora

Life of Gi – Sacred Brothers 

Best Actor – Te Ahikā

Te Waiarangi Ratana – Bubs

E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Filmmaker of the Year for 2019 – Te Ihorei

Luka Wolfgram 

E Tū Whānau People’s Choice for 2019

Home – Joshua Robinson


Best documentary – Pakipūmeka Mātua

Te Mahara Tamehana for ‘Shadows in Paradise’

Best Drama – Te Tino Whakaataata

Ōtaki College for ‘Ranginui and Papatūānuku’

Best Edit – Pepa “kotikoti”, kōhatū 

Neihana Lowe for ‘Tūrangawaewae

Best use of Theme – Wai Ora

Jakita Paranihi and Ari Leason for ‘Moepapa’

Best Actor – Te Ahikā

Pare Finlay for her performance in ‘Mahurangi’

E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Filmmaker of the Year for 2018 – Te Ihorei

Te Akauroa Jacobs for ‘Whare Kino’


Best documentary – Pakipūmeka Mātua

Jakita Paranihi for Otaki’s Super Heroes

Best Drama – Te Tino Whakaataata

Te Ahitaeawa Hakaraia Hosking for Kapumanawawhiti

Best Edit – Pepa “kotikoti”, kōhatū 

Jharaiz Kiriona for Wings

Best use of Theme – Wai Ora

Pare Finlay, Jakita Paranihi, Ari Leason and Jada Murray for Turning Tables and Tihei Rangatahi for All We Need Is Love 

Best Actor – Te Ahikā

Shania Bailey Edmonds for Hine

E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Filmmaker of the Year for 2017 – Te Ihorei

Neihana Lowe for Warning


Best documentary – Pakipūmeka Mātua

Philly Kingsford Brown – Harikoa

Pani Rakuraku White – Pepeha

Best Drama – Te Tino Whakaataata

Oriwa Hakaraia – He Taonga

Best Innovation

Maizy Kingsford-Brown – ‘What’s the Difference?’ 

Room 7 Avalon Intermediate – The Healthy Wrap

Best Original Music


The Healthy Wrap

Best Camera

Neihana Lowe – Home

Pani Rakuraku White – Pepeha

Best Actor – Te Ahikā

Te Ahitaeawa Hakaraia Hosking – He Taonga

Te Ākauroa Jacob – Kaitiaki


Philly Mete-Kingi – Puke Ora, Living Hills.

Oriwa Hakaraia – Te Moe Moea — The Dream

Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Whakarewa i te reo ki Tuwharetoa – He Kura Huna 

Kaea Hakaraia Hosking & Oriwa Hakaraia – Koro Puppeteer

Eva Hakaraia – I Love Waiorongomai 

Waitohu School Productions – Kia Kaha – Heads Up 


Te Kiritia Kamehameha (Best Film)

Te Tau Tuaiwa for Mums Are Treasures

Te Tino Hunga Mahi (Best Production Team)

Mums Are Treasures

Te Kaitohutohu Toa (Best Director)   

Philly Mete-Kingi for Mums Are Treasures

Te Toi o Nga Hangaru (Best Technical Contribution) 

Tukotahi Turu-Ngahiwi

Te Tauira Whaimana (Best Emerging Film Maker)

Isaac Cleland for Tamanui

Toi Whakaari Tane (Best Male Actor)  

Tiwini Ngatai-Taplin for Being a Father

Toi Whakaari Wahine (Best Male Actor) 

 Savannah Eriha for Being a Father

Toi Mahi Ohu (Teamwork)

Kaylin Doyle, Jake Suitauloa, Lisiane Ropata-Box, Taylor John, Neihana Kiel for Leave Big Footsteps

Kai Tautoko (Support) 

Kiana Morris


  1. Rangatahi up to the age of 24 are invited to submit a short film. Māoriland recognises that filmmaking is a team effort and therefore your team may include rangatahi of any ethnicity. Each team must feature a Māori youth in a key position. A key position is a writer, director or producer. They have to play a significant role and feature in the credits of your film.
  2. Use the six E Tū Whānau values as inspiration to create a film that represents your perspective as a young person in Aotearoa. The film can be of any genre or theme – it doesn’t have to directly reference the values. If you have any questions, contact Māoriland at [email protected]
  3. Your film must be no longer than 5 minutes.
  4. Your film must be appropriate for a General Audience (GA). This means that your film may not include explicit language or content. You can read more about classifications here: http://www.censor.org.nz/what/what-symbols/
  5. To submit your film, you must upload it to Vimeo – www.vimeo.com. Please ensure that the film is uploaded at its best quality 1080p recommended (720p minimum) and is set to be able to be downloaded. Please ensure that you include a password to access the film when you complete the submission form.
  6. You must complete an online submission form at: http://bit.ly/ETW2020
  7. Permissions – you must have permission to film someone, to film on someone else’s property and to use someone else’s creations – music, clips and other imagery. You can find free music on Soundcloud, Youtube https://www.youtube.com/audiolibrary/music . If you write music yourself – ka rawe! You own the rights.
  8. To show that you have asked for permissions, you must complete and upload ‘release forms’ as part of your online submission. Release forms are available to download at:https://maorilandfilm.co.nz/mrff/filmmaking-resources/
  9. The deadline for film submissions is 5 pm on Jan 31, 2020.
  10. All teams who have submitted a film will be invited to attend the E Tū Whānau Rangatahi Film Awards in March 2020 during the Māoriland Rangatahi Film Festival. At these awards, a selection of films submitted will be screened and prizes will be awarded to filmmakers across the following categories: 
    Filmmaker of the Year – Te Ihorei
    Best Drama – Te Tino Whakaataata
    Best Documentary – Pakipūmeka Mātua
    Best Editing – Pepa “Kotikoti,” Kōhatū
    Best Use of Theme – Wai Ora
    Best Actor – Te Ahikā
    New categories may arise with the discretion of the judging panel.